25 okt 2019

Rainbow Friday in Poland

Press release

MEPs send a solidarity statement to participants and organisers of Rainbow Friday in Poland

23 October 2019

Ahead of the 2019 edition of Rainbow Friday in Poland, Members of the LGBTI Intergroup send a letter to express their solidarity with organisers and participants.

Dear students, teachers and school staff in Poland,
Ahead of Rainbow Friday 2019, we want to send you our heartfelt support. We sincerely wish for this 2019 edition to reach as many schools and educational settings as possible, in a peaceful and respectful environment.
At a time where bullying, violence and discrimination against LGBTI children and children in Rainbow Families are all too common, we can only support initiatives like Rainbow Friday.
As representative of EU citizens, it is our duty to remind Member States and EU institutions that educational settings should be safe and inclusive for everyone, including those who identify as LGBTI. We believe that inclusive and quality education for all is a matter of human rights, but also key to create global peace and prosperity, as shows its inclusion into the Sustainable Development Goals.
Many times, the European Parliament has taken a stand against LGBTI-phobia in schools and called on EU Members States to tackle bullying and violence against LGBTI children and children in Rainbow Families. It has also called on Member States and EU institutions to promote gender and LGBTI equality in education in multiple reports and resolutions.
However we must stress that it is also thanks to initiatives like Rainbow Friday, raising awareness and promoting respect and tolerance on the ground, that we can hope to “leave no one behind” when it comes to education.
Therefore we want to thank you and congratulate you for your brave commitment to making schools in Poland safer and more inclusive for everyone for the past four years. It takes courage to stand up publicly for human rights and inclusive education.
Rest assured that on Friday 25 October, we will be thinking of you and supporting you all from across Europe.

Terry Reintke MEP, Co-President of the LGBTI Intergroup
Tanja Fajon MEP, Vice-President of the LGBTI Intergroup
Sirpa Pietikainen MEP, Vice-President of the LGBTI Intergroup
Marie Toussaint MEP
Alexandra Louise Phillips MEP
Sylwia Spurek MEP
Clare Daly MEP
Barbara Gibson MEP
Brando Benifei MEP
Julie Ward MEP
Dietmar Köster MEP
Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield MEP
Seb Dance MEP
Karen Melchior MEP
Nicolae Stefanuta MEP
Rosa D'Amato MEP
Milan Brglez MEP
Frédérique Ries
Maria Walsh MEP
Alex Agius Saliba MEP
Tilly Metz MEP
Kim van Sparrentak MEP
Manuel Bompard MEP
Radka Maxová MEP
Josiane Cutajar MEP
Vera Tax MEP
Marianne Vind MEP
Pina Picierno MEP
Robert Biedroń MEP
Rasmus Andresen MEP
Isabella Adinolfi MEP
Jackie Jones MEP
Agnes Jongerius MEP
Evin Incir MEP
Miapetra Kumpula-Natri MEP
Kathleen Van Brempt MEP
Sira Rego MEP
Alice Kuhnke MEP
Irene Tolleret MEP
Petra de Sutter MEP
Sandor Ronai MEP



Vennligst sjekk din e-post og klikk på lenken for å bekrefte din nye e-postadresse.